Vice President Sara Duterte at the Bagong Pilipinas rally on Sunday, Jan. 28, 2024.

Vice President Sara Duterte attends the Bagong Pilipinas rally on Sunday, Jan. 28, 2024. (Photo by GRIG C. MONTEGRANDE / Philippine Daily Inquirer)


Manila, Philippines — Vice President Sara Duterte arrived at the Hakbang ng Maisug Prayer Rally on Sunday evening, hours after she briefly appeared at the “Bagong Pilipinas” kick-off rally at the Quirino Grandstand in Manila.

As seen in a Facebook Live on the official page of former President Rodrigo Duterte, the vice president graced the Davao City event and expressed her gratitude to their supporters there.

In an earlier post, the vice president said she would attend both events.

“My fellow Filipinos, I will attend the Bagong Pilipinas Kickoff Rally at the Quirino Grandstand in Manila. The DepEd is also pushing for the 8-point Socioeconomic Agenda of Marcos administration for the betterment of Filipino people,” the vice president, who also heads the DepEd, said in Filipino in a  Facebook post.

“I will also be attending the rally of different sectors in Davao City against the proposed Charter change. We must see and understand the danger that threatens us when we completely surrender our Constitution to the hands of people with personal and political interests,” she added

During the prayer rally, Davao City Mayor Sebastian Duterte also said President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. should “resign” if he did not have “love and aspiration for the people. ”

The mayor made his statement as his father’s supporters gathered to voice their opposition to Charter change, as he described the current president as someone who “lacks compassion” and is “lazy” which is  “why we’re unhappy.”

Meanwhile, Marcos arrived at the Quirino Grandstand around 6 p.m.

He was joined by First Lady Louise Araneta-Marcos and other government officials such as Sens. Jinggoy Estrada, Lito Lapid, and Ramon Revilla; House Speaker Ferdinand Martin Romualdez, House Senior Deputy Majority Leader Sandro Marcos, and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo; Executive Secretary Luke Bersamin, and Presidential Communications Secretary Cheloy Garafil.