The Philippine National Police (PNP) has accommodated 18 members of the European Parliament in their visit to former Sen. Leila de Lima at her detention facility at Camp Crame in Quezon City on Thursday, Feb. 23.

PNP chief information officer Col. Redrico Maranan said the members of the European Parliament were properly escorted to de Lima’s detention facility in accordance with the existing rules of the Custodial Center where de Lima is currently detained.

This includes, he said, the observance of minimum public health standards.

“The PNP followed the court orders in connection with the visit to the former senator. Our personnel escorted them inside as part of the protocol being observed at the Custodial Center,” Maranan told the Manila Bulletin.

The court orders were signed by two judges handling the cases of de Lima.

Based on the court order, those who were allowed to visit de Lima were Isabel Wiseler-Lima, Kasrten Lucke, Hannah Neumann, Silvia Sardone, Ryszard Czarnecki, Miguel Urban Crespo, and Ana Isabel Sanchez Ruiz, all members of the European Parliament.

Also allowed inside were Hugo van der Werff, Anna Ksiazczakova, Rapahel Fisera, Federico Martegani, Joanna Rejdych and Ana Vicente Moreno.

The PNP also accommodated Roberto Aquino, the team leader of the Interpreters; Antonella Petracchi;  Diego Garcia Cruz; and Alfonso Ribot Rodriguez.

In a statement released by the PNP, all of the 18 European Parliament Sub-Committee Human Rights.

The visit, according to the statement, was endorsed by the Department of Foreign Affairs through a Note Verbale sent by the Office of the European Affairs.